UK confirms eGate user expansion
12 March 2019 15:56 GMT

The UK secretary of state has signed an order mandating the expansion of countries  whose nationals will be eligible to use ePassport gates to enter the UK from summer 2019.

The legislation states that nationals of  the US, Canada, New Zealand, Australia and Japan, as well as Singapore and South Korea will be added to the list of countries that can use them. 

ePassport gates, which are currently available for British and EU nationals, provide a faster route through the border as they allow eligible passengers to be processed quickly and securely.

The proposals build on those set out in the Budget, to allow nationals from, and demonstrate the government’s commitment to develop a new global immigration system as the UK prepares to leave the EU.

An estimated additional 6.5 million passengers per year will be able to take an automated route through the UK border as part of the government’s ongoing work to ease the passage for legitimate travellers.


Industry Events

connect:ID 17-18 Mar 21