Winners of the 6th European Biometrics Research Award announced
10 September 2012 13:38 GMT

EAB Research Winners

The European Association for Biometrics EAB has announced the winners of its annual Research Award which is given to young researchers for their outstanding work in the area of biometrics.

A jury of expert panelists chose three candidates out of numerous papers to present their significant contribution in front of the jury, the EAB members and a public audience.

This year's finalists were:

  • Christian Rathgeb from University of Salzburg with Towards enhancing security and accuracy of iris recognition systems;
  • Anindya Roy from Idiap Institute with A fast parts-based approach to speaker verification using boosted slice classifiers;
  • Daniel Hartung from University Collage Gjøvik with Template protected vascular patterns for secure online banking transactions.

The overall winner of the 6th European Biometrics Research Award went to Christian Rathgeb from the University of Salzburg, Austria. He was awarded a prize of 2,000 € (provided by sponsor GenKey Europe). 

A separate selection was made to appoint the winner of the industry award. This recognised the novelty, impact and applicability of the research to business. This was won by Anindyo Roy from Idiap Institute (Switzerland) and was awarded by Safran Morpho, again with a prize of 2,000 €.

The chairman of the jury, Prof. Patrizio Campisi from the University of Roma TRE (Italy), said: "I am happy that again the jury had a choice out of a range of submissions of very high quality. This
prestigious award, which is unique in its kind, stimulates innovation in high level research in biometrics both in academia and in industry. I am grateful to the members of the jury, who did an excellent job by spending their precious time to the selection process.”

The international jury of this year’s competition consisted of the following members:

  • Prof. Christoph Busch, Gjøvik University College, Norway
  • Prof. Bernadette Dorizzi, Telecom SudParis, France
  • Prof. Mike Fairhurst, University of Kent, UK
  • Prof. Patrick Flynn, University of Notre Dame, USA
  • Jean Christophe Fondeur, Morpho, France
  • Prof. Anil Jain, Michigan State University, USA
  • Dr. Tom Kevenaar, GenKey, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Josef Kittler, University of Surrey, UK
  • Prof. Arun Ross, West Virginia University, USA
  • Dr. Günter Schumacher, JRC, European Commission
  • Prof. Raymond Veldhuis, Twente University, The Netherlands

Industry Events

connect:ID 2021 5-6 Oct 21